top of page
Search
  • Marie H

McKee Botanical Gardens Vero Beach, Fl

Updated: Jul 25, 2019

Subtropical botanical garden first opened as McKee Jungle Gardens in 1929. Many stops and starts but officially dedicated in 2001 and became a National Historic Landmark in 1998.









https://mckeegarden.org

When you drive up and park, it really doesn't look like much. Walk in and the transformation is real. I grew up in Chicago. Every January I would come to Florida to escape the winter. I'd get off the plane, the humidity would hit me and I would think ahhh, paradise and soak up all the bright sunshine. The feeling is the same walking into McKee. The scenery is utter tranquility, the humidity and moisture palpable, the smells so tropical, moisture mixed with woods and leaves. I love it here. There are various displays and events throughout the year, classes, a restaurant for a cool drink and lunch, a souvenir shop, all things that help to keep this serene,peaceful place open year round. More to follow, I will be back.



23 views0 comments
bottom of page